South Africa: Day 2

Teaching students in a Johannesburg day school.

Teaching students in a Johannesburg day school.

Friday was my second day in country, and I hit the ground running.

My first stop was a local day school, where I taught a class to a few dozen high-school students. The group was fun and engaging, and I wish we’d had more time together.

From the students’ attire, you’d think it was winter. And it was. But it was a Johannesburg winter, which bears more resemblance to summer in New York. It was pretty cold in the morning, but the hot African sun warmed things up quickly. Most striking was the dryness, with levels approaching what I’d normally expect on an airplane.

Next up was the local radio station for an on-air interview. (More about that here.)

Hoffman talks about his books on 101.9FB in Johannesburg.

Hoffman talks about his books on 101.9FB in Johannesburg.

The timing, unfortunately, didn’t allow for me to see much of Johannesburg that day. I had a bit of time between events, but by early afternoon we had to set out for the hotel in the suburbs that would house my first conference stop. Because everyone was calling it a hotel, I expected, well, a hotel. It was more like a resort. And its beautiful setting formed the backdrop for the weekend, as I’ll describe next.


Indaba Hotel and Conference Centre

Indaba Hotel and Conference Centre

This entry was posted by Joel H..

One thought on “South Africa: Day 2

  1. Pingback: South Africa: Days 3-4 | J.M. Hoffman

Leave a Reply

