The Alaska Trip: Day 2, The Boat

Unless you’ve been on a cruise ship, you can’t imagine what it’s like.

Princess of the Seas in Seward

Princess of the Seas in Seward

My Stateroom on Princess of the Seas

My Stateroom on Princess of the Seas

My Stateroom on Princess of the Seas

My Stateroom on Princess of the Seas

The Pool on Princess of the Seas

The Pool on Princess of the Seas

The Pool on Princess of the Seas

The Pool on Princess of the Seas

I hadn’t, so in my ignorance I figured it was like a combination of a boat, a hotel, and a resort. And in a sense it was. But like so many things, the cruise ship is more than just the sum of its parts.

I boarded the boat in Seward, some 130 miles south of Anchorage. And, indeed, on board I found 13 stories, which they call “decks,” rooms (“staterooms”), four dining rooms, two pools, banks of elevators, and so on.

But once we set sail (with no sails), I realized that the magic was in the juxtaposition of the boat and Alaska. Whether majestic, peaceful, or quirky, the environment was always changing. One day there’d be ice water (literally — water with thousands of pieces of ice) out my large window, the next day a mountain. Put those mountains behind an outdoor pool with two hot tubs and a bar, and the scene was positively surreal.

So even though I was mostly looking forward to our land excursions, it didn’t take long before I decided that a retreat center floating by Alaska’s natural beauty is a fine place to spend a bit of time.

And things were only going to get better.

2 Responses to “The Alaska Trip: Day 2, The Boat”

  1. A ship is just a ship when it is in a port, but place it in an exotic location and you have a magical mystery cruse…

  2. Tamara Gruszko Says:

    My Alaska trip was also the first time I went (reluctantly) on a cruise. I didn’t expect to love it so much! I had the same experience you so well describe. Now, after a few other cruises, I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

